Who played the original green hornet?

The first Green Hornet on the radio was played by Al Hodge, starting in 1936. The first Green Hornet in the film serials of the 1940's was Gordon Jones. In 1966, the first Green Hornet on TV was Van Williams with Bruce Lee as his sidekick, Kato.