What city is known as bluff city?

Memphis, Tennessee, located on a bluff along the Mississippi River, is known as Bluff City.

---

Memphis. There are four bluffs along the Mississippi River (bluffs are a very steep cliff, or river bank), Memphis is located on the fourth bluff and fairly near the others, earning it its nickname.