What kind of cheese is used in a philly cheesesteak?

Mozzarella has become the cheese of choice on the so-called Philly Cheese Steak. Provolone is more often used on a steak hoagie, as provolone is the cheese used on a hoagie, the name for a sub in Philadelphia, supposedly named for Hog Island.