Why is it called a baby shower?

The term shower is often assumed to mean that the expectant mother is "showered" with gifts. A related custom, called a bridal shower, may derived its name from the custom in the 19th century for the presents to be put inside a parasol, which when opened would "shower" the bride-to-be with gifts.