What's a bad air quality index?

The Air Quality Index (AQI) is an index for reporting daily air quality. The AQI scale ranges from 0-500. When AQI values are between 151-200 the air is considered unhealthy. An AQI value between 201-300 the air is considered very unhealthy. An AQI value above 300 is considered hazardous.

---

An AQI, or Air Quality Index, greater than 100 is likely to cause acute health effects for a significant portion of the population. An AQI greater than 150 is likely to cause acute health effects for most of the population. Chronic effects of exposure to lower AQIs are less well known.