What's a bad air quality index?

An AQI, or Air Quality Index, greater than 100 is likely to cause acute health effects for a significant portion of the population. An AQI greater than 150 is likely to cause acute health effects for most of the population. Chronic effects of exposure to lower AQIs are less well known.