Who is mr lafayette?

The Marquis de Lafayette was a Frenchman who came to aid the Patriots in the Revolutionary War. He was a good friend and confidante of General Washington. After the war, he maintained letter correspondence with George Washington and encouraged him to emancipate his slaves as an example for others.