What's a moondog?

A moon dog or mock moon, also called a paraselene in meteorology, is an atmospheric optical phenomenon that consists of a bright spot to one or both sides of the Moon. They are exactly analogous to sun dogs. They are formed when moonlight refracts off ice crystals in the clouds.