What's theodore roosevelt a democrat?

Theodore Roosevelt was a member of the Republican Party but became increasingly progressive in the later years of his presidency. In 1912, Roosevelt and other progressive Republicans split off and formed The Progressive Party, popularly known as the Bull Moose Party.