Why do babies eat so much?

Babies start out with small stomachs, and they need to eat frequently because they are only able to take a small amount of milk at each feeding. ... Babies are also able to adjust the fat levels in the milk by nursing more or less often. When the baby nurses frequently, there is more fat in the milk