Is wax paper different than parchment paper?

Yes. Interchangeable in most situations, but wax paper is flamable and cannot go in the oven. It's coated with soybean or paraffin wax. Parchment paper is coated with silicone giving it a nonstick and heat-resistant surface. Wax paper is much cheaper, so good for applications not involving heat.

---

Yes. Parchment paper is coated with silicone to give it a nonstick, heat-resistant surface, and wax paper (or waxed paper) is—as the name suggests—coated with a soybean or paraffin wax. Because of wax paper's coating, it is not meant for use in the oven.