Is a fluid ounce the same as a dry ounce?

No. Dry ounce is a measurement of mass or weight whereas a fluid ounce is a measurement of volume. One fl ounce (vol) of water may also weigh one ounce (mass) but a fl ounce of oil will weight more than one ounce.