How do you help an anxious dog?

Petting and cuddling your dog will help take away some of the anxiety. Burning off some of that tension by going for a walk, a run, or playing in the yard or park is a great anxiety reliever for a dog. Also you need to stay calm around your dog. If you're stressed, they will "catch" it from you.