What is a neverbeast?

The NeverBeast, a.k.a. "Gruff", is a large, mystical animal native to the island of Neverland. It spends almost its entire life in hibernation It is only awakened every thousand years by passage of a mysterious green comet. Fairies initially fear it, but later learn the beast's true purpose.