What was the first sandwich invented?

The sandwich as we know it was popularized in England in 1762 by John Montagu, the 4th Earl of Sandwich. It was simply sliced meat on bread. He likely got his idea from his travels in Greece and Turkey, where dips, meats and cheeses were served layered with flatbread.