Where did the name cocktail come from?

The word "cocktail" has a long history, starting in the 18th century, where spices such as ginger or cayenne would raise the tail of animals to make them appear spirited or healthy. As ginger was added to drinks, it was a cocktail, eventually assuming the name for the entire beverage.