What does baner mean?

Baner is a suburb in the Western Metropolitan Corridor of Pune, India. Baner is well known for "Varkari" Parampara and Bhakti Aradhana from many years. Baner is bordered by Pashan in south, Balewadi to the west, Aundh to the north and Pune University to the east.