What is the bakugan?

Bakugan is the game portrayed in the anime series Bakugan Battle Brawlers. The story centers on the lives of creatures called Bakugan and the "battle brawlers" who possess them. The Bakugan franchise itself is a joint venture between Sega Toys and Spin Master.