How do you sweep a broom?

With your dominant hand holding near the top of the broom in front of you for stability and your other hand about two feet below to push the broom next to your hip. Facing what you are sweeping, short strokes seem to keep and collect more dust and dirt more effectively. Also, sweep in sections.