Is brandy and cognac the same thing?

Every cognac is a brandy, but not all brandy is a cognac. Brandy is distilled fruit juice and it can be any kind of fruit juice. Cognac comes from the Cognac region of France, and is made with a fruit juice base of white grapes. It undergoes two rounds of distillation between October 1 and March 31.