What is a fitnessgram pacer test?

The multi-stage fitness test, also known as the PACER test or PACER (Progressive Aerobic Cardiovascular Endurance Run), the 20 m Shuttle Run Test (20 m SRT), or the beep test, is a running test used to estimate an athlete's aerobic capacity (VO2 max).