Are there green cherries?

Once the flowers are pollinated and the petals fall from the tree, it takes about a month for immature fruit to grow and take on its color. Most mature cherry trees have green fruit by late spring or early summer. In addition, the green maraschino variety are usually flavored with peppermint.