Why are polar bears white?

Polar bears have white fur so that they can camouflage into their environment. Their coat is so well camouflaged that it can sometimes pass as a snow drift. Interestingly, the polar bear's coat has no white pigment; in fact, a polar bear's skin is black and its hairs are hollow.