Where does the saying drunk as a skunk come from?

Recent studies of the stomachs of wild skunks, shows that they eat large numbers of insects and arachnids, particularly scorpions, along with some roots and fruit. Eating fermenting fruit, fallen from trees, results in them becoming intoxicated in the wild, hence 'Drunk as a skunk'.