Where is the heart of the ocean?

The Heart of the Ocean in the Titanic film is not a real piece of jewelry, but if we are following the plot, It was believed to have been lost in the shipwreck of the Titanic. It was lost in 1996 when Rose dropped it into the ocean, where it was lost at sea for eternity.