What are ghost guns?

A ghost gun is a privately-made firearm that is unregulated, untraceable, and lacks commercial serial numbers.

---

The term "ghost gun" typically refers to privately made firearms, which, while legal to own and create, are not held to the same regulatory standards as commercially sold firearms, such as serialization. However, once a privately made firearm is desired to be transferred, it must be serialized.