What is the difference between roast and bake?

Roasting involves cooking foods, like meat, potatoes, chicken, and vegetables, that already have a solid structure before you begin cooking. Baking, however, refers to foods without initial structure, or begin as a batter or dough, like cupcakes and cookies, or bread.