What is the hottest type of star?

The hottest known stars in the Universe are the blue hypergiant stars. These are stars with more than 100 times the mass of the Sun. One of the best known examples is Eta Carinae, located about 7,500 light-years from the Sun. Its surface temperature is about 40,000 Kelvin (40,000°C, 71,540°F) .