What are the different types of vinegar?

There are hundreds of varieties of vinegar, but the basics that people use every day are; white, white wine, rice, red, red wine, and Apple cider. You can add fresh herbs such as dill, rosemary or thyme to a bottle of white vinegar and let it steep, for use in salad dressings or sauces.