Why is mercury shrinking?

When planets form, they have a hot, molten core. This slowly cools, causing the planet to shrink. Even close to the Sun, Mercury experiences this. Data from Mariner 10 indicated that Mercury had shrunk 1 to 2 km, less than predicted. Recent data shows shrinkage of 7 km, in line with predictions.