Why did han solo change his name?

Immediately after losing Qi'ra, Han entered the area and tried to enlist in the Imperial Navy. When asked what his last name was, Han responded that he did not have a people and was alone. Due to this he was assigned the name "Solo" by recruitment officer Drawd Munbrin.