What is the movie shepherd of the hills about?

Shepard of the Hills is a 1941 John Wayne Film that also stars Betty Field and Harry Carey. John Wayne plays a mysterious but pleasant stranger who arrives in the Missouri hills and befriends a young backwoods girl, which doesn't sit well with her moonshiner fiancé.