What was the miracle on ice?

The "Miracle on Ice" was an ice hockey game during the 1980 Winter Olympics in Lake Placid New York, between the hosting United States and the Soviet Union during the medal round of the men's hockey tournament. The United States upset the four-time defending gold medalist Soviet Union and won 4–3.