Why do people wear purple ribbons?

According to Pinmart, The purple ribbon is most commonly used to raise awareness for animal abuse, Alzheimer's disease, domestic violence, epilepsy, lupus, sarcoidosis, Crohn's disease and pancreatic cancer.