When did the etch a sketch come out?

Etch A Sketch was introduced on July 12,1960 for $2.99 (equivalent to $26 in 2019). It is a mechanical drawing toy invented by André Cassagnes of France and subsequently manufactured by the Ohio Art Company and now owned by Spin Master of Toronto, Ontario, Canada.