What is oscar wilde?

Oscar Wilde was an Irish poet and playwright. He was the most popular playwright in the 1890’s until he was imprisoned for having homosexual sex. He is best known for the play The Importance of Being Earnest and the novel The Picture of Dorian Gray. He died of meningitis at the age of 46.