How did doughnuts get their name?

In 1809, Washington Irving's Knickerbockers History of New York described small, tasty balls of fried dough that were called Dough Nuts. Doughnuts got their name because they resembled walnuts. The Dutch had introduced them as oil cakes and usually baked them as treats for holidays.