What's the purpose of goosebumps?

The body hair of all mammals automatically stands up when cold, creating a fluffy layer of warmth. This is a reflex left over from when our ancestors had long body hair, but since we don’t have much body hair anymore, all we see are the goose bumps on our skin.

---

The body hair of all mammals automatically stands up when cold, creating a fluffy layer of warmth. This is a reflex left over from when our ancestors had long body hair, but since we don’t have much body hair anymore, all we see are the goose bumps on our skin.