How was the root beer float invented?

The root beer float was invented by Robert McCay Green in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in 1874. The traditional story is that, on a particularly hot day, Mr. Green ran out of ice for the flavored drinks he was selling and used vanilla ice cream from a neighboring vendor, inventing a new drink.