What is five h. tp capsules?

5-HTP, also known as 5-hydroxytryptophan, is a dietary supplement made from the seeds of the African plant Griffonia simplicifolia. It is a supplement that has become popular due to the belief that it can enhance mood, induce sleep, and promote weight loss