How much is a pound in baking?

A pound is 16 ounces. If you're converting between pounds & cups, it's important to remember that the cup is a unit of volume & the pound is a unit of weight, so a cup of a dry ingredient will differ in weight. A lb. of sugar is about 2.26 US cups, and a pound of flour is around 3.62 US cups.