How much sugar is recommended per day?

Sugar is bad for you so the answer is none. However, The American Heart Association recommends no more than 25 grams of added sugar per day for women and 38 grams for men. The AHA limits for children vary depending on their age and caloric needs, but range between 12 - 25 grams per day.