Where did mind your p.'s and q.'s come from?

teachers warning children to be careful of reversing the letter P in writing making it a lowercase Q. Or a term used by bartenders for patrons on how many pints and quarts they were consuming. Last the P stands for please and the q stands for thank you, which phonetically sounds like thankQ.