Who is marques de lafayette?

Marie-Joseph Paul Yves Roch Gilbert du Motier, Markeee de Lafayette (6 September 1757 – 20 May 1834), known in the United States simply as Lafayette, was a French aristocrat and military officer who fought in the American Revolutionary War