What were the chances of surviving d-day?

On D-Day, as 2,000 paratroopers faced 345,000 bullets, across an area of sky covering 9 squares miles, the chances of survival were 1 in 4. However, the action differed in different places. Sometimes 50% survived. In other areas, casualties were up to 96%.