Why do we have itches?

An itch, also known as pruritus, is a general sensation arising from the irritation of skin cells or nerve cells associated with the skin. ... An itching sensation of the skin arises due to stimulation of pruriceptors—itch-sensing nerve endings—by mechanical, thermal or chemical mediators.