What is systolic and diastolic?

Systolic is the phase of the heartbeat when the heart muscle contracts and pumps blood from the chambers into the arteries. Where as, Diastolic is the phase of the heartbeat when the heart muscle relaxes and allows the chambers to fill with blood.