What day did world war two officially start?

World War II began in Europe on Friday, September 1, 1939, when Germany invaded Poland. The war between the U.S.S.R. and Germany began on Sunday, June 22, 1941, and on Sunday, December 7, 1941, the United States declared war on Japan.