When was beer invented?

The earliest chemically confirmed barley beer to date was discovered at Godin Tepe in the central Zagros Mountains of Iran, where fragments of a jug, from between 5,400 and 5,000 years ago was found to be coated with beerstone, a by-product of the brewing process.

---

Beer was invented thousands of years ago. Modern beer can be traced back to the Bavarian purity law, or Reinheitsgebot, of 1516C.E. which limits the ingredients used in the production of beer to: barley, hops, and water.