Why does the u. s. use fahrenheit?

The Fahrenheit scale for temperature measurement is a part of the US Customary System which was adopted in 1832. While scientists and others use the metric system (liters, grams, Celsius, etc) in order to communicate with peers worldwide, the average American still uses the legally adopted system