Who holds the record for most career strikeouts?

Pitcher Nolan Ryan has the most career strikeouts in Major League Baseball. During a record 27-year career, he struck out 5,714 batters. Reggie Jackson holds the record for the most career strikeouts by a batter with 2,597.